The Hammer Of Retribution Ogg-Cast VI: When The Year Ends In Zero…

The Hammer Of Retribution Ogg-Cast VI:
When The Year Ends In Zero…

Original release date: 1st January 2010
Total length: 3:17:42 in 3 parts

Download link:!kLoD1ToL!-_3oq2LZQRzXunYg1yHdt6R-LM1nDl7G3cBmTnfCKsk

When the year ends in zero, for whatever reason, there is a tendency for long-standing landmark metal albums to be released in that year, and in this sixth Hammer Of Retribution Ogg-Cast, I’ve compiled them all into a three-hour celebration. Witness the true birth of metal in 1970, the NWOBHM in 1980 setting the scene for an excellent decade, the valiant efforts of eighties thrashers in 1990 before grunge and nu-metal tried to wreck everything, and the rise of new champions and the comeback of old campaigners in 2000. Also featured, though, is a quick preview of 2010, and evidence that this year should live up to the reputation of its predecessors. With new albums out in February and March, Finntroll and Dark Tranquillity are featured, and also – with recommendation from its creator – a new track from Oakenshield.
Much later note: the fact that the album this Oakenshield track is on would finally be released in 2012 is neither here nor there.

PART ONE (1:17:34)
0:04:45 Black Sabbath – Black Sabbath
0:12:22 Black Sabbath – Hand Of Doom
0:20:49 Deep Purple – Speed King
0:26:39 Led Zeppelin – Gallows Pole
0:31:35 Hawkwind – Be Yourself
0:40:40 Judas Priest – Rapid Fire
0:44:44 Saxon – Motorcycle Man
0:49:32 Saxon – Strong Arm Of The Law
0:54:08 Iron Maiden – Phantom Of The Opera
1:02:17 Quartz – Stand Up And Fight
1:08:10 AC/DC – Shoot To Thrill
1:13:28 Motörhead – (We Are) The Road Crew

PART TWO (1:01:25)
0:00:57 Megadeth – Take No Prisoners
0:04:23 Anthrax – Intro To Reality
0:07:47 Anthrax – Belly Of The Beast
0:12:34 Slayer – Hallowed Point
0:17:21 Sanctuary – Future Tense
0:22:27 Pantera – The Art Of Shredding
0:27:44 Deicide – Sacrificial Suicide
0:30:33 Obituary – Chopped In Half
0:35:24 Entombed – Left Hand Path
0:42:01 Bathory – Valhalla
0:53:41 Judas Priest – One Shot At Glory

PART THREE (0:58:43)
0:01:52 Thyrfing – Sweoland Conqueror
0:08:20 Skyforger – Nāves Sala
0:13:20 Skyclad – You Lost My Memory
0:19:58 Spiritual Beggars – Left Brain Ambassadors
0:23:15 Orange Goblin – King Of The Hornets
0:30:53 Iron Maiden – Ghost Of The Navigator
0:37:42 Destruction – The Butcher Strikes Back
0:42:57 Dark Tranquillity – Dream Oblivion
0:46:43 Finntroll – Under Bergets Rot
0:52:15 Oakenshield – Earl Thorfinn

Visit the website at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s